Off to Grandma’s

I’m not really going to grandma’s for the sole reason that she is dead. This is a tribute to her as I think she one of the main influences of my style. I still have some of her stuff and especially adore her brooch collection, which I don’t use because of the fear of losing it.

I do adore vintage clothing and accessories or, as what me and my friends call it,Β  lola chic. I think there is something with old things that makes them very interesting. It’s fun imagining about the people who used those items before; what they are like, what they do for a living or maybe what they pair it with! I’m just inlove with the possibilities of so many stories behind one item.

Grandma is the one in the black dress with the big lace ribbon.

Floral dress thrifted | Knitted cardigan thrifted | Wool Scarf Metropolitan Museum of Art | Black taffeta skirt made by me | Floral bag Vintage | Lace pumps Luxe | Woven fedora Rebel Gear | Owl necklace Pop Culture

Tags: , , , ,

22 Responses to “Off to Grandma’s”

  1. Myka Says:

    Your lola is so chic! I love the big white ribbon πŸ˜€

    Like you, I have two very stylish lolas, too, and while they aren’t huge influences as far as my personal style is concerned, I’m happy they have nice baubles and bags and scarves I can borrow πŸ˜€

  2. nan Says:

    How Lola Gaga is that big ribbon?! :O

  3. Andrea Says:

    I have an awesome brooch collection that my Grandmother borrows from!
    Love as usual…
    Andrea

  4. Jen Says:

    These pictures are amazing! You’re very lucky to have so many of your grandmother’s things ❀

    • elyoo Says:

      Yeah! My mom and sister didn’t want them because they just see it as something very old, soooo more for me! Hahahahaha! Maybe i’ll go for a trip at our old house and haunt for more vintage stuff. *thinks*

  5. sundryfashionfusion Says:

    Your fashion dear, gives her old stuff justice. Kudos to Lola!

  6. paoruiz Says:

    oooooooooohhhh. I love the patterns on the wall. =)

  7. Chekka Cuomova Says:

    wooowww beautiful pictures, esp the picture of your grandma. I believe she must be one of the most stylish woman in that era. πŸ™‚
    ps: I heart your feminine-yet-still-edgy outfit. πŸ˜€

    • elyoo Says:

      Thank you!! πŸ˜› I don’t really like to look very feminine to I add something to make it a bit more ‘edgy’ methinks… Hahaha! I have a very weird taste in clothes. I love the very feminine stuff and I also love the androgynous stuff. >_<

  8. Chekka Cuomova Says:

    btw elyoo, I tagged you here. Pls repost soon, I wanna see your answers πŸ˜‰
    http://www.chekkacuomova.com/2009/04/i-was-tagged-by.html

    • elyoo Says:

      I just posted the quizzie! Jen tagged me too, so I had no choice but to really answer it. Lol!

  9. Esme Says:

    I LOVE EVERYTHING on your outfit! and that’s one lovely wall. πŸ™‚
    wow, your lola really stands out!

  10. Jen Says:

    Hey sweetie, I tagged you in a survey on my blog! πŸ˜‰

  11. Lauren Says:

    I agree with everyone else here – you’re so lucky to have some of your lola’s old things! Also, I love your walls. And your clothes. πŸ˜€

  12. Jennifer Jacobs/Smurfkuh Says:

    That bag is really beautifull! And your wall is nice to.

Leave a Reply

