DIY | Lace it up

I have this 2 yards to lace sitting on top of my sewing machine since forever. I admit, I really don’t know what to do with it. (Actually, I planned to dyeing it just because its too white, but I’m not really sure what colour I want it to be.) Decisions, decisions!!

Looking at it this morning, I decided I would do another DIY gown. I don’t really have anywhere to wear a gown to, but I just really find it beautiful in photographs. Don’t you?

Underneath is just a black jersey v-neck dress I bought a couple of years ago. I’ve never really worn it anywhere just because of the very revealing neckline, but adding this lace on top makes me want to have a reason to wear it outside of my room!

Black jersey dress Tea for Two | Lace fabric Ilaya | Satin ribbon made by me | Lace open-toed pumps Luxe

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “DIY | Lace it up”

  1. editor Says:

    simply perfect.
    it would look gorgeous dyed navy, but this you have here contrast is very classic.

    • elyoo Says:

      If I dye it navy, I would probably make it into a little navy dress with white detailing…

      I think I’m on to something.

  2. Andrea Says:

    I think you should dye it with tea and then dip the raw edges in teal…but that’s just me…Heh!
    I like the back. Maybe a permanent dress?
    Hope you are feeling better!
    Andrea

    • elyoo Says:

      I am feeling a bit better now. Doing a lot of drawings here and there.

      I think dyeing it in tea is great, giving it a more vintage feel!

  3. Cheryl Says:

    I think you need to refine the edges a little. As with the dying, how about tie dying in different pastel colors? I don’t know, it’s just a suggestion, I’m not really good with combining colors. 😉

    • elyoo Says:

      I don’t really want to do anything on the lace before dyeing it. I think the colour will guide me on what direction I want to take the lace in. Hmm.

  4. nyanyanavecmoi Says:

    I sort of like the lace as it is =) White lace is always pretty, nice and classic. And, low neckline looks really great on you! I think that you should wear that black dress more often! ^^

    Sara

    • elyoo Says:

      but don’t you think it’s TOO white? It kinda blinds me a little when I’m looking at it. I’m considering on dyeing it tea or ecru to give it a more vintage vibe. What do you think?

      Aww. Thanks for the nice words. Yeah, maybe i’ll wear it when there’s a reason for me to. 😛

  5. alex Says:

    is it just me or does the lace look like a cheap curtain you can buy at divisoria? hhhmm..maybe, it’s just me

    • elyoo Says:

      Well, I’m not sure if there are cheap curtains that looks like this lace… or maybe I just haven’t seen them. Although I agree that the lace looks a bit cheap in it’s raw form. 🙂 Rest in mind that I’m trying to do something about that.

    • Helga Says:

      Hmm. Yeah, might be just you!

    • Myka Says:

      Stylish women can make anything look chic, cheap curtains included. And I think Elyoo was able to make the “cheap curtains” look fab. =)

Leave a Reply

