Inspiration | Period Films

I love watching period films because I just can’t stop drooling looking at the costumes. I mean, there are just so many details and the level of craftmanship is really superb.

The last period film that I watched was Marie Antoinette and it blew my mind away. No, it wasn’t because of the story or the actors (but I do love Kirsten!), it was because of the costumes and the set design! I was always looking forward for the next costume and drool over the wonderful colours and patterns.

I think period films play a big part in influencing my personal style. Everytime I open my closet, I ask myself: “What character would I be today?” In my own world I could be anything that I want; I could be a court messenger, an assassin, a scholar or even a fairy! The trick is to play the role and you would own the outfit in an instant.

Believe me, that’s really my secret!

I leave you with this drool worthy trailer of Public Enemies! Can’t wait to watch it with my friend Michee of SundryFashionFusion.

Pinstripe white polo In Wear | Satin ribbon made by me | Black vest Mango | Striped blazer Zara | Newspaperboy cap forgot where I got it | Pants with suspenders Promod | Shoes Glaze

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

24 Responses to “Inspiration | Period Films”

  1. BFF Lash Says:

    Els, if I need some photoshoot para malibang ako, picturan mo ko ha! πŸ™‚
    NIce shoots!

  2. Andrea Says:

    You look great!
    I love the pants.
    What do you use to get the background the way they are in your shots? Photoshop? They are really great.
    Andrea πŸ™‚

  3. Clare Says:

    I love this outfit so much! You always have the BEST photoshoots. I love that they are always themed. Oh, and I can’t WAIT to see Public Enemies.

    • elyoo Says:

      Thanks! It really does help if I have a theme for the shoot because it just makes the photos more interesting… eventhough it is just all me! Haha!

      BTW, I just saw Public Enemies and I can’t stop drooling because of Johnny Depp.

  4. Mikelle Street Says:

    Your pictures are always so amazing!!! I love your photoshoots. Maybe I haven’t been around for long enough but are you a stylist or something? Anyways I did want to tell you that I did borrow one of your pictures in a post on my website. It was the one where you had on multiple dresses and were doing the classic couture pose. I did say where I got it though. If you do just comment and I’ll take it down.

    • elyoo Says:

      I’m not really working as a stylist, but if someone would ask me to, I would gladly do it. Haha! I just happen to really love playing with clothes.

      OMG! I saw your post and I don’t really know how to feel with my photo beside those people. Haha. I feel so unworthy. O_O (No need to take it down dear!)

  5. Cheryl Says:

    Awesome photos as always! Me too,I love period films because of the clothes that they’re wearing. The actors/actresses look so glamorous in those times. They looked so flawless and well-dressed.

    • elyoo Says:

      I know!! It’s like they really do take some time to really think about their outfits. *love*

  6. nyanyanavecmoi Says:

    OMG you’re so aaawesome!
    Can you actually walk in those heels, btw? ^^

  7. dearilou Says:

    You have a very chic Oliver Twist thing going with that cap. Or would that be Dodger? He was the charming one.

  8. Kat Says:

    Wow, this outfit really rocks. I do agree, it does evoke a little bit of Oliver Twist. Absolutely fantastic. I love the heels too! How do you do it?

    Anyway, I was browsing a couple of sites before, and I found this –> http://incoldmirrors.multiply.com/. Katrina Pallon. She’s a photographer slash stylist or something like that I think and is into periodical costumes and stuff – she even made a whole album dedicated to Marie Antoinette! Her works are stunning. Just sharing.

  9. arlene Says:

    There’s just something about menswear right?? Looks great on you!

  10. Earl Says:

    Nice! πŸ™‚

  11. andrea Says:

    hi.. your blog is nice.. love it.
    wanna ask if you also own the site lookingforlola.blogspot.com.. since you always talk about your stuff..

    • elyoo Says:

      Hi! Thank you for visiting my blog.

      No, I don’t own that site. πŸ™‚ it’s nice though.

  12. thesydneygirl Says:

    fantastic photos! lovin ur blog! found ur blog on the fashion spot. would you like to swap links? =)

    x

  13. Lisa Says:

    Great photos…I’m really feeling a steampunk trend coming on!

    Have you seen Public Enemies yet? Very inspiring style-wise…Johnny Depp wears these great round sunglasses in one scene, and I’ve been on the lookout for a similar pair πŸ™‚

  14. chekka cuomova Says:

    this one is really genius! amazing, elyoo!! I love it to death, seriously!!!! πŸ˜€

  15. Robert Shumake Says:

    Just wanted to say that I read your blog quite frequently and I’m always amazed at some of the stuff people post here. But keep up the good work, it’s always interesting.
    See ya,

Leave a Reply

