Rules are meant to be broken

I was a late bloomer in fashion. Back in high school, when most of puberty were spent on boys, clothes and make-up, I wasted my time on cartoons, books and food.

The very first fashion rule that was shared to me was: Never (ever) mix patterns. It actually made sense to me back then, but now, I think I’m just too old for these rules. I mean, who makes these rules anyway? It’s just an opinion of another person. I wouldn’t mind breaking a thousand fashion rules if I really like what I’m wearing.

As what Santino said sang on Project Runway, Lighten up! It’s just fashion!

Striped top Laboum | Polka dot skirt thrifted | Grey vest Babbo | Pink leather pin Girl Shoppe | Grey booties Charles & Keith | Embroidered bag from Divisoria

Tags: , , ,

14 Responses to “Rules are meant to be broken”

  1. dearilou Says:

    I love mixing patterns, though I haven’t quite gotten it down yet.
    Your outfit is just lovely, really.

    • elyoo Says:

      Thanks! 😛 I’ve been trying to make an outfit with that polka dot skirt for ages now. Haha!

  2. flashbulb100w Says:

    That is a pretty outfit. I guess mixing patterns is okay for as long as the combination is balanced.

    • elyoo Says:

      Or maybe as long as it’s not really the uber clashing patterns? I dunno. Maybe we should just all trust our own judgement. 😛 HAHA!

  3. Elaine Says:

    Oh how I wish I have the same courage to wear those clothes. Shyness!

    • elyoo Says:

      Aww, c’mon! You can do it! Maybe do some experimental outfits in your bedroom. (I do that!)

  4. denise Says:

    2 years. 2 whole years. hahaha. and my staple clothes are black, save for my bohemian dress i absolutely love to pair with my gladiator sandals (remember the college days when i completely refused to wear open-toed ANYTHING? >:D). When it stops freezing here, that’ll be my first outfit to wear.

    damn. that’s still around late april or may next year.D:

    • elyoo Says:

      OMG! You’re gonna be there for A WHILE!!! Maybe I’m gonna draw you another dress for the warmer days there. 😛

      • denise Says:

        YES PLEASE!<3 as of the moment im stuck with dressing like an onion. hahaha. can't help it, i freeze easily.:p plus i cant keep my nails long because i keep ruining the gloves and piercing them through.D: sad.

        so yeah, dress pleeeeassseee!<3 one to wear for spring!:p

        • elyoo Says:

          Ok ok. 🙂 Will do that for you!!! Ugh, we didn’t even have a chance to get together before you left!

  5. Lauren Says:

    But you dress really well! It doesn’t show that you’re a fashion late bloomer. 🙂

  6. Alice Says:

    Hey – I stumbled on this site by mistake. I was searching in Bing for Antivirus software that I had already purchased when I came upon your site, I must say your site is pretty cool I just love the theme, its amazing!. I don’t have the time at the moment to totally read your entire site but I bookmarked it and also signed up for your RSS feed. I’ll back in a day or two. thanks for a nice site.

  7. Sheens Says:

    There is hope for me yet! Stumbled on your blog, very good read 😀

  8. ASIANSTUD Says:

    AMAZING MIX OF PATTERNS…I NEVER HAD AN IDEA THAT IT WUD ACTUALLI WORK…THE FIRST TIME I SAW THIS TYPE OF FASHION OFFENSE WAS IN THE SERIES SEX AND THE CITY WHERE CARRIES STANFORD BLACHE (GAY BFF) WORE A FLORAL SHIRT UNDER A FLORAL SUIT…THE MIX WAS TOTALLY BREATH TAKING!!!

Comments are closed.


